2017 Abel Prize Laureate
Abel Prize - The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

Yves Meyer

Prix Abel 2017

Professor emeritus at the ENS Paris-Saclay, researcher at CMLA laboratory

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decicded to award the ABEL Prize for 2017 to Yves Meyer, professor emeritus at the Ecole normale supérieure Paris-Saclay "for his pivotal role in the development of mathematical theory of wavelets".

Yves Meyer was the visionary leader in the modern development of this theory, at the intersection of mathematics, information technology and computational science. 

Meyer is a member of the French Academy of Science and an honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. His previous prizes include the Salem (1970) and Gauss (2010) prizes, the latter awarded jointly by the International Mathematical Union and the German Mathematical Society for Advances in mathematics that have had an impact outside the field.

Wavelet theory

In the spring of 1985, Yves Meyer recognised that a recovery formula found by Jean Morlet (seismologist) and Alex Grossman (physicist) was an identity previously discovered by Alberto Calderon (mathematician). At that time, Meyer was already a leading figure in the Calderon-Zygmund theory of singular integral operators.
Thus began Meyer's study of wavelets, which in less than ten yeards would develop into a coherent and widely applicable theory.

The first crucial contribution by Meyer was the construction of a smooth orthonormal wavelet basis.

Stéphane Mallat (mathematician) and Yves Meyer systematically developed multiresolution analysis, a flexible and general framework for constructing wavelet bases, which places many of the earlier constructions on a more conceptual footing.

In the following decades, wavelet analysis has been applied in a wide variety of arenas as diverse as applied and computational harmonic analysis, data compression, noise reduction, medical imaging, archiving, digital cinema, deconvolution of the Hubble space telescope images, and the recen LIGO detection of gravitational waves created by the collision of two black holes.

ABEL Prize

The ABEL Prize is an international award for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physic, probability, numerical analysis, scientific computing, statistics, and also applications of mathematics in the sciences. 

The Abel Prize recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences and has been awarded annually since 2003.

It has been awarded since 2003 by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters ; it is considered to be a maths equivalent of the Nobel Prize.